Home / Biosimilars / General / Biosimilars applications under review by EMA – July 2019

Biosimilars applications under review by EMA – July 2019 Posted 16/08/2019

The European Medicines Agency (EMA) is the body responsible for approval of biosimilars within the European Union (EU). A legal framework for approving biosimilars was established in 2003. Approval of biosimilars is based on an abbreviated registration process, which allows biosimilars manufacturers to provide a reduced package of information compared to originator drugs, provided they can prove ‘similarity’ to the originator or reference drug.

All medicines for human and animal use derived from biotechnology and other high-tech processes (including biosimilars) must be approved via the centralized EMA procedure. EMA has both general and product specific guidelines giving information on the requirements for biosimilar applications submitted to EMA [1].

According to EMA’s list of applications for new human medicines under evaluation by the Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use (CHMP) released on 9 July 2019, the agency is reviewing 11 biosimilar applications. All applications are for products where there are already biosimilars approved in Europe.

One application is for arthritis treatment adalimumab, one is for arthritis treatment etanercept, one is for diabetes treatment insulin aspart, three are for leukaemia drug rituximab, three are for osteoporosis treatment teriparatide and two are for breast and gastric-cancer treatment trastuzumab, for which there are already biosimilars available on the European market [2], see Table 1.

Table 1: Biosimilars under review by EMA*

Common name

Therapeutic area

Number of applications

EMA-approved originator(s)

Originator company(ies)

Adalimumab

Immunosuppressant

1

Humira

AbbVie

Etanercept

Immunosuppressant

1

Enbrel

Amgen/Pfizer

Insulin aspart

Diabetes

1

NovoLog

Novo Nordisk

Rituximab

Antineoplastic medicine (anticancer)

3

MabThera/Rituxan

Roche

Teriparatide

Calcium homeostasis

3

Forteo/Forsteo

Eli Lilly

Trastuzumab

Antineoplastic medicines

2

Herceptin

Roche

Total

 

11

 

 

*Data collected on 26 July 2019.

Source: EMA.

In January 2019, the pegfilgrastim biosimilar, Fulphila, received European Commission approval [3].

In July 2019, Korea-based Samsung Bioepis (Samsung and Biogen’s joint venture) announced that the application for approval of its proposed bevacizumab biosimilar SB8 has been accepted for review by EMA [4].

In April 2019, the adalimumab biosimilars Idacio and Kromaya received European approval for all the indications of the reference product (Humira) [5, 6].

Related articles
Generics applications under review by EMA – July 2019

Biosimilars applications under review by EMA – January 2019

References
1. GaBI Online - Generics and Biosimilars Initiative. EU guidelines for biosimilars [www.gabionline.net]. Mol, Belgium: Pro Pharma Communications International; [cited 2019 Jul 26]. Available from: www.gabionline.net/Guidelines/EU-guidelines-for-biosimilars 
2. GaBI Online - Generics and Biosimilars Initiative. Biosimilars approved in Europe [www.gabionline.net]. Mol, Belgium: Pro Pharma Communications International; [cited 2019 Jul 26]. Available from: www.gabionline.net/Biosimilars/General/Biosimilars-approved-in-Europe  
3 GaBI Online - Generics and Biosimilars Initiative. EC approval for pegfilgrastim biosimilar Fulphila [www.gabionline.net]. Mol, Belgium: Pro Pharma Communications International; [cited 2019 Jul 26]. Available from: www.gabionline.net/Biosimilars/News/EC-approval-for-pegfilgrastim-biosimilar-Fulphila 
4 GaBI Online - Generics and Biosimilars Initiative. EMA accepts application for bevacizumab biosimilar from Samsung Bioepis [www.gabionline.net]. Mol, Belgium: Pro Pharma Communications International; [cited 2019 Aug 16]. Available from: www.gabionline.net/Biosimilars/News/EMA-accepts-application-for-bevacizumab-biosimilar-from-Samsung-Bioepis 
5 GaBI Online - Generics and Biosimilars Initiative. EMA approval for adalimumab biosimilars Idacio and Kromeya [www.gabionline.net]. Mol, Belgium: Pro Pharma Communications International; [cited 2019 Aug 16]. Available from: www.gabionline.net/Biosimilars/News/EMA-approval-for-adalimumab-biosimilars-Idacio-and-Kromeya 
6 GaBI Online - Generics and Biosimilars Initiative. EC approval for adalimumab biosimilar Idacio [www.gabionline.net]. Mol, Belgium: Pro Pharma Communications International; [cited 2019 Aug 16]. Available from: www.gabionline.net/Biosimilars/News/EC-approval-for-adalimumab-biosimilar-Idacio 

Permission granted to reproduce for personal and non-commercial use only. All other reproduction, copy or reprinting of all or part of any ‘Content’ found on this website is strictly prohibited without the prior consent of the publisher. Contact the publisher to obtain permission before redistributing.

Copyright – Unless otherwise stated all contents of this website are © 2019 Pro Pharma Communications International. All Rights Reserved.

Source: EMA

Comments (1)

best cure posted 22/09/2019 - by mary johnson

ALL THANKS TO DR OSO WITH HIS HERBAL PORTION I WAS COMPLETELY CURED FROM BREAST CANCER.  I'm here again to appreciate. DR OSO God will always continue to bless you more abundantly, for the good works you don in my life, I will always keep on writing good and posting my testimonies about you on the Internet, I’m MARY JOHNSON from TEXAS . I was tested breast cancer positive, I saw a blog on how DR OSO cured people with his herbal portion, i did not believe in natural medicine but i just decided to give him a try, I contacted him,and explain my situation to him,few day later he sent me the herb, after taking DR OSO  herbal medicine for few weeks i went to hospital for check up so luckily i was healed  with his herbal portion, i am so happy. If you have any type of cancer problem or you are also infected with any kind of disease, contact him drosohaberhome@gmail.com or call/whatapp +2348162084839 for advice and for his product,i hope this testimony also help some one out there ..              here is the  dr website. https://sites.google.com/view/drosohaberhome/ His blog page https://drosohaberhome.blogspot.com you can also email me for more info about DR oso  via maryjohnson9700@gmail.com     ALL THANK TO DR OSO .

Generics News Research General

more

Biosimilars News Research General

more